An Open Letter to All Who Care …

Dear Friends, Family & Well Wishers,

Can we please all collectively understand that I don’t have a magic, cute elf like in the Elves and the Shoemaker (I even added a link for those who want some proof, and there’s my academia coming out, the last hard thump for any failing creative writer, resorting to mundane academic concepts) that comes and sits near my laptop every night waiting for me to awake and see this amazing piece of literature that makes me go “eat your heart out Charles Dickens”, flashing on my screen every morning?

Even penning this useless excerpt has been tormentingly torturous – see I am so tired I’m getting all tautological on you guys, I’m starting to repeat myself just to fill in blank space. Dammit, I did it again.

This is me signing off with a sigh (in case you need a picture to feel any sort of sympathy) …

2 thoughts on “An Open Letter to All Who Care …

  1. Frank

    I see writers chattering all the time about how they leap from one project to the next pour words by the thousand into their computers, and…

    I don’t understand. It’s easy to write stuff and nonsense – even poetry is easy, because it’s so short that you don’t spend a week writing pages and pages of poetry only to go, “This is crap!”

    But to write something meaningful? I have written two novels now, and both in their own very different ways are a synthesis of years of prior experimentation with ideas, with a healthy dose of careful research mixed in.

    I have a short story that I have started writing, but I don’t really understand what the central idea is yet, and without that it’s hard to write well, or at all.

    (I like your alliteration, by the way.)

    Like

    Reply
    1. mpsharmaauthor Post author

      Absolutely & completely agree! People think fiction requires no research at all, but this falsity could not be further from the truth.

      Thank you, it’s nice to know I am not the only one out there, though those feelings are probably stemming from my narcissistic “am I the only one out here” sort of emotive responses 😀

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply!

