It’s my Birthday, It’s my Birthday – I’mma spend my money

I’ve been humming this tune for a couple of days now, the nerve cells in my skull angrily protesting at the inkling I was having all through the “stuck in my head” tune – it sounds Indian?

Yesterday, while I was wasting away into a mass of protoplasm on the cross trainer at my local gym, I was thankful for my mind being unable to focus on sucking my abs in via alien proportions when recognition finally struck as the Will.I.Am feat. Cody Wise tune blasted from my communal television set. I know this song.

So naturally, I decided to put my well-honed research skills to the test with an extensive and intensive, thought out blueprint of how I was going to find out the name, which naturally commenced and concluded at Wikipedia and Eureka! It’s from a popular Tamil (South Indian cinema) movie, Kadhalan I used to listen to as a child.

I recall with fond memories (not so much for my parents) dancing to the catchy tune, and how my sister and I revelled in our chance to touch base with home.

The song (and movie) starred “jhatka” oriented Prabhu Deva (loose English translation – damn, he got da moves) and was written by India’s favourite Maestro – A.R. Rahman, Suresh Peters and Shahul Hameed.

For those of you who are game, check out the original here 🙂

A.R. Rahman ji, you rock!

41 thoughts on “It’s my Birthday, It’s my Birthday – I’mma spend my money

      1. John Guillen

        What the heck!? How come you didn’t write a post or tell me!?!?! I would have at least said happy birthday. 😦 ugh. Happy belated birthday. A freaking month later.

        Like

      2. mpsharmaauthor Post author

        Really? The first time, I don’t think so, because that would be a first and me not making a joke of myself within the first five minutes of meeting someone is against my dna 😉

        Like

      3. John Guillen

        Haha well I think you make jokes about yourself all the time with probably everyone. And they probably laugh and then secretly they’re like “does she not know how freaking awesome she is?” 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply!

