Dear Australians …

What ever happened to the good ol’ Aussie Battler’s motto of giving everyone a fair go?

When did we stop looking in our own backyard before we started pointing the finger?

Why is it that everyone around me wants to talk about the latest celebrity nude picture/sex tape leaks and chooses to overlook discussing the disgusting, vile death of a young boy of 24 who passed away in filthy conditions from an ailment that was easily treatable while residing in what the Australian Government promises us are humane conditions in our detention centres?

When will we start holding the government you and I chose to ransom for the decisions they make on our behalf and do we really wantΒ to be known as a first world country that does this to people who choose to come to the lucky country?

It’s easy to sit here and judge everyone else, the Syrians, the Russians, the Afghanis … the rest of the World, but how are we going to answer future Australians about how we let a young person slip into a coma on his way to the hospital from a cut in his leg that turned septic in 2014?

Or will we just bury all of this as far as we can, only to use the words “Well we’re not the ones who did it” in case it is discovered in 100 years or so? Doesn’t this argument sound familiar, reminiscent of our apology as a nation to our very own dwindling indigenous population?

I’m not here to advocate or not advocateΒ for the Boat people, but I am asking all of us to raise our voice for humanity. Raise your voice today and tell the Government that they aren’t speaking for you.

43 thoughts on “Dear Australians …

    1. mpsharmaauthor Post author

      Thanks so much, that means a lot to me, especially from someone as talented as you are, which I am positive I have told you before!

      Your poetry is very deep, and I love that it always gets me to think outside my immediate periphery πŸ™‚

      Like

      Reply
    1. mpsharmaauthor Post author

      Aw, you’re sweet, but I thought that you enjoyed talking to me because I named you JS and my sane insanity πŸ™‚ Oh, and due to my astute use of reliable, timely and spot on use of emoticons πŸ˜‰ Like that one

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. mpsharmaauthor Post author

        That’s mean, here I thought you were like my bestest friend out there, my bad 😦

        I have explained this on Twitter. I officially hate Snapchat, I’m bombarding the creator hate mail now.

        Like

      2. mpsharmaauthor Post author

        Obviously your horror stories and mine are very, very different. Nothing scares me more than a scary emoticon blaring at me angrily on my computer screen. Maybe that’s just me …

        Like

  1. Tone

    I am really happy that my poetry has that kind of effect with you. Your kind words of support on my work is immensely appreciated like always πŸ™‚

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply!

