Does the Weather affect your writing?

Yesterday we had the most awesome thunderstorm ever!

I absolutely adore writing in what the general population may consider as catastrophic weather events, when crackling lightning and the roaring thunder shreds the clouds above you apart. The surging rain as it assaults my windows ferociously and pelting razored balls of ice during a rioting hail storm is the perfect backdrop to writing, especially dark characters like my Adrinius.

What about you? Does the weather affect your mood when you’re working?

14 thoughts on “Does the Weather affect your writing?

      1. lightthelie

        Oh you are just too kind to me 🙂 I think I am still learning how to be happy in all situations, but I thank you for sharing your lovely words with me. I would have to say you must be one of those people as well!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. mpsharmaauthor Post author

        You know what, I am learning as well 😀 Some days are better than others but meeting likeminded and generally nice people like yourself helps in being more positive I think. Gives you hope for the future of this planet when you meet such nice humanitarians out there like Lightthelie 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  1. RAMAN

    I ve paid deep attention to this topic many times before and here I am summarizing my experience..
    Generally, we tend to post positive thoughts in morning.. And in winter afternoons, we tend to post a bit sad posts.. In summer evenings, our posts are generally happy as summer eve are long and there is much to do.. In rainy season, we get more spiritual or even romantic.. What your experiences say?

    Like

    Reply
    1. mpsharmaauthor Post author

      Um, I think you’re right. I find mornings are great for deep thoughts whereas afternoons, my mind tends to drift towards food 😀 Night time is when I get a lot of my writing done but it tends to be more fun oriented. I love writing in the rain the most because I think it reminds me of fresh, new beginnings where the old is being washed away, ready for the new.

      Like

      Reply
  2. Christopher Farley

    I find I write more in dismal weather than when the sun’s out and riding high, and I can’t even say it’s because I’m English as I started writing some 4 or so years ago, long after I moved to Switzerland.

    Like

    Reply
    1. mpsharmaauthor Post author

      I am exactly the same. Something about a streak of lightning against a blackened sky and grey clouds just gets my finger tingling which is sometimes slightly unhelpful for typing but oh well 🙂 Maybe it’s the English in your bones? 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Leave a Reply!

