Why I’m so grateful to WordPress …

I was first introduced to this fascinating forum about 7 months ago when I finally decided to get off my derriere and start connecting with other likeminded (and some not so much) people out there tantalisingly housed within the deep, dark crevices of the blogging sector of the World Wide Web.

I didn’t expect to become entangled in the mysterious web of intrigue, deceit, fantasy, fiction, fact, crime, passion and supernatural imprisonments that I unknowingly crawled into, but similar to a junkie, I am not the least bit regretful that I did.

I’m going to be 100% honest – I first got onto blogging as a mundane effort to carry out the one aspect of novel writing I hate the most. Yes, you heard me correctly, even slightly more than editing. I know, what is wrong with me? Advertising – I can’t stand it, in fact I detest it with such a vengeance, I even considered writing a book on the inhumane concept but then I thought about how I’d have to advertise it and dropped the idea faster than I would a hot potato because even that’s more useful. At least I can submerge a hot potato in butter and devour it along with a few potentially required arteries, but that’s another story you would rather be spared from. Trust me.

WordPress however, has turned into so much more than a useful marketing tool for writers, it’s infected me to the creative core of my soul by giving me the greatest gift any potential author could ever receive and that’s contact with the amazing talent pool, no scratch that, ocean of others who love the written word as much as I do, if not more. If I ever harboured any unsupported delusions of grandeur of how brilliant a writer I was before I embarked on this journey of shameless self-promotion, I certainly don’t anymore. No, I have been set straight, given a cold, tight slap across my cheek on how much I still have to learn if I ever dream, hope, clamber to be half as good as some of the writer’s I have come across in the WordPress community.

Alongside WordPress came Twitter & Facebook, other notorious examples of novel marketing and as I scampered across my path into the writing communities of these and other various social medias, I came to realise just how talented others were out there.

Does this depress me? Absolutely not, because I find that those I connect with are often so graciously willing to impart their knowledge and skills with me and help me in my personal battle towards self-improvement, I feel humbled and honoured simultaneously and instantly.

So, though I don’t say this nearly as often as I truly should, thank you to everyone I have connected with so far and I look forward to cementing and forging new relationships as I travel this path of atrociously torturous advertising for what I hope to be, at least slightly above mediocrely run of the mill.

2 thoughts on “Why I’m so grateful to WordPress …

Leave a Reply!

