What’s your religion?

There aren’t many questions I think are useless honestly because questions provoke thought,Β in turn promoting discussion which is the foundation block for discovery that is the cornerstone for innovation, and that is almost always a great thing I think.

Besides I’m Indian, so being nosy is almost a by product.

However the question of “What religion do you belong to” has always got me stumped unless being probed on the train by the sweet old lady sitting next to me who is in fact an in the closet devout catholic that has personally made it her mission to convert all the other innocent “got no other option” public transport “enthusiasts”, or maybe it’s just me. I naturally have one of those faces that scream I’m lost and need to find purpose so please help!

Why does anyone need to know what religion someone belongs to, or even if they do? How is this answer going to dictate how we proceed in our conversation or relationship? Do you feel more connected with me if we follow the same religion? Do belonging to different faiths make us incompatible? If yes, shouldn’t we be worried?

I’d like to think that we all follow the religion of humanity because as far as I can tell, the study of theology reveals one very obvious characteristic when the religions of the world are truly dissected that everyone, and I mean everyone knows deep down – what is right and wrong. According to me, singling out someone to steer clear of solely based on the faith they choose to pursue is definitely wrong. Very wrong.

Agree or disagree?

6 thoughts on “What’s your religion?

  1. RAMAN

    Shi kha sharma.. Religion makes so less sense to me too; if someone would say that all persons on earth have to abandon the religion, I ll be happiest person..
    And those persons who keep chanting that RELIGION IS IN DANGER and always ready for bloodshed are biggest fools. .Wot say?

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. mpsharmaauthor Post author

      Absolutely agree! Religion is not required to be truly spiritual in my opinion, every single one of us knows what is right and wrong in our souls. If we live by these rules, I believe the world will be a much better place for everyone.

      Like

      Reply
  2. Tone

    “I’d like to think that we all follow the religion of humanity because as far as I can tell, the study of theology reveals one very obvious characteristic when the religions of the world are truly dissected that everyone, and I mean everyone knows deep down – what is right and wrong. ” This statement pretty much says it all. I am with you on this! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply

Leave a Reply!

