Proverbs I do not get – #1

You can’t have your cake and eat it too …

Why would I buy a cake if I didn’t want to eat it. Really? What would be the point?

“X” will happen when Pigs Fly …

Okay, do you really think that I’m going to be caring about “X” when there are pigs buzzing around my head?

Sticks and Stones will break my bones but words will never hurt me …

This saying couldn’t be further from the truth. Whoever came up with this one clearly didn’t understand the power that words can wield or meet my High School’s version of Mean Girls. Words can butcher your soul in a way sticks and stones never could.

Any proverbs you wonder about?

5 thoughts on “Proverbs I do not get – #1

  1. Frank

    When pigs fly… always makes me think of The Simpsons:

    “When hell freezes over!” and “A snowball’s chance in hell!” make me smile because Dante’s Inferno has the deepest layer of hell as a frozen wasteland.

    Like

    Reply
  2. equinoxio21

    The french equivalent of the cake is “On ne peut pas avoir le beurre et l’argent du beurre”. You can’t have the butter and the money (to buy) the butter. 🙂
    When pigs will fly becomes “when chicken will have teeth”.
    I wasn’t very keen on proverbs when I was young. Grandmothers’s stuff. But as I grow older, and hear the same proverbs in very different cultures and languages, I realize that many have some wisdom to it.
    “Never say never” (will you use a proverb)
    😉

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply!

