Mayday, Mayday …

And no.

This is not a distress call for my writing though I’m hurt you would think so. In fact, I’m disappointed you haven’t used it for my writing yet. That, I would get.

My sister and I will often spend our time discussing why certain elements exist in life.

What?

Don’t judge us. We’re bored, poor individuals. Stop laughing, it’s cruel.

Seriously.

I once asked a very expert Yahoo Answers panel if the word “mouse” originated from a combination of the words “mouth” and “nose” because whoever discovered the animal couldn’t figure out where its nose ended and mouth began because it was so small.

Turns out it was a stupid question, not that it stopped getting essay type answers to what was fast becoming an extremely mundane, “I’m going to slit my wrists if I ever see a mouse again” topic, but that (like so many other of my posts) is another story.

Which brings me to my point. Thank you for bearing that ridiculous tangent.

Mayunka asked me while we were returning from a nice early morning swim on Saturday about the origins of the Mayday call.

I really exercised my brain (no small feat on the weekend or any day really for me) and decided that the term probably originated when some poor bugger who was lost completed a distress call that went something like this:

Poor, Unsuspecting Victim: “Help, help, I’m lost”.

Drunk/Bored Emergency Representative: “What day is it?”

Poor, Unsuspecting Victim: “What the what?! I’m lost you idiot! And possibly on the brink of starving to death, is this really pertinent?”

Drunk/Bored Emergency Representative: “You bet it is! So now, if you want to be saved, I suggest you tell me”.

Poor, Unsuspecting Victim: whispers under breath “Jackass. I guess it’s a day in May or something”.

Drunk/Bored Emergency Representative: “Did you just say Mayday. Unconvincing and extremely unimaginative but seeing as my bladder’s about to burst, I guess I’ll let it pass”.

Now I really did believe that this was a wonderful explanation, so much so, I was actually prepared to put a wager on it.

Turns out I was wrong and that the actual origins of Mayday is this.

I still think mine’s much better but each to their own I guess. How boring …

4 thoughts on “Mayday, Mayday …

Leave a Reply!

